?

Log in

Interview with a new voice in spy literature - thespyreport [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
thespyreport

[ website | Wesley Britton ]
[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

Interview with a new voice in spy literature [Jul. 29th, 2008|11:23 am]
thespyreport
[Tags|, , ]

We have some very special new additions to Spywise.net this week:

“T.H.E. Hill’s Voices Under Berlin: A Spy Novel That Breaks All The Molds”

Throughout the Cold War, the divided city of Berlin was the epicenter of spy films and literature, especially in the hands of masters like John Le Carre’ and Len Deighton. For decades, we saw and read about Western agents sneaking in and Eastern defectors sneaking out of East Berlin—over, under, and through the most iconic symbol of the times—the Berlin Wall.

But T.H.E. Hill’s new 2008 Voices Under Berlin: The Tale of a Monterey Mary has nothing to do with such spy vs. spy duels in Germany. Instead, his subject is the long-neglected Berlin Tunnel of the 1950s and the cryptographers, linguists, and analysts sifting through intercepted intelligence from East Germany to the masters in Moscow. Better—Voices in Berlin is, in fact, perhaps the funniest spy book ever written. It’s not a parody or satire of the 007 mythos nor is it a continuation of themes in the novels by the likes of Graham Greene or Eric Ambler poking fun at the ineptitude of clandestine services. Still, in the tradition of Greene and Ambler, Voices Under Berlin contains many literate qualities that make it a work of special consideration, worthy of an audience much broader than that of espionage enthusiasts or those interested in Cold War history.

Spywise.net has just posted two ways for you to explore Voices Under Berlin. First, we asked Hill himself to explain his intentions, techniques, and background in creating this new spy classic, and our interview is about as intriguing as any reader can ask for. Then, Tom generously granted us permission to post one of his later chapters demonstrating his breed of humor. After you check these files out, we have no doubt you too will be wanting more from this very original new voice in spy literature.

The interview and sample chapter are now available in the “Spies in History and Literature” section of—where else—

WWW.Spywise.net
linkReply